No Life for Elephants

DSCN1743I attended my first circus protest recently.

The wind blew hard, it was chilly, my hands hurt from clutching the sign so hard. Twice I dropped my pamphlets and hurried to collect them before they blew away. Armed with kid-friendly stickers and in constant motion, I tried to make myself available to anyone who made eye contact.

I wanted to beg them not to go, don’t buy tickets, don’t support the cruelty. I wanted to say “If you get a ticket, you might as well get a bullhook too and take your turn beating the elephants” I wanted to tell the kids the circus is mean to the animals.

But I didn’t. I killed them with kindness instead. I nodded, smiled, and handed out coloring books and flyers.

A few thanked me. Some avoided me like I was the threat, one man shook his head.

But the funny thing was-all the kids approached me-or tried to, until some of the parents pulled them away. They were sponges, ready to absorb, wanting to learn, returning my smile with theirs.

Shame on the parents for hiding the truth, for keeping them in the dark about the realities of man’s cruelty! Why can’t they say “No honey, we’re not going to the circus because the animals at the circus are sad, and they don’t want to be there”?

The most prophetic moment of the day; a little boy with glasses and a red jacket took a coloring book, scrunched his nose at me and asked “Is the circus almost done?”

I said “Yes buddy, it almost is.”

elephants at van andel

circus protest pic

Categories: Making a Difference, Rhino Ramblings | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “No Life for Elephants

  1. Wild Juggler

    I so admire what you do! I’ve been to monkey experiment protests; it’s about time I attend a circus protest.

  2. Cindy Walker

    Wonderful job Tisha! Bravo to u & all the compassionate people who took the time to speak up for circus animals. If kids knew the truth they would cry in heartbreak. It’s still shocks me how far behind the US is compared to 3rd world countries where wild animals in circuses are banned. We will never give up the fight! Education & Awarness is key & that little boy in the red jacket is the future. I hope as he colors in his book, he learns on his own free will (not his ignorant parents) that circuses are no place for animals xo

    • Thank you Cindy! There were quite of few of us. And I agree-it’s amazing how much Americans tend to hide their heads in the sand when it comes to animals.

  3. You are indeed doing a remarkable work and social service. I do hope that there are (and will be) more awakened and enlightened souls as yourself. Hopefully the families going to circus, especially the grown-ups, will see the angle of cruelty to animals and importantly, the serious harm they are causing to their innocent children by making them watch those acts of senseless and mindless cruelty. I do admire your standing up for animals, and wish you all the best. Here is a quote I would like to cite, which is rather relevant:

    “When children see animals in a circus, they learn that animals exist for our amusement. Quite apart from the cruelty involved in training and confining these animals, the whole idea that we should enjoy the humiliating spectacle of an elephant or lion made to perform circus tricks shows a lack of respect for the animals as individuals”
    – Peter Singer: Australian Author/Philosopher, Professor of Bioethics at Princeton University, USA.

  4. Karen

    From the mouth of babes. Kids usually are right on. thanks for doing what you do.

  5. Keep away from the activist, dear, she may bite

  6. Dear Friend:

    I have nominated you for Special Awards that you truly deserve. These are unconditional awards, and to receive these you don’t have to do any additional work. You have already done a great job of offering your great support, camaraderie, and positive feedbacks to the posts by yours truly, and this recognition signifies my appreciation of your kind support.

    Please visit the link below for additional details.
    http://dshenai.wordpress.com/2013/09/30/nominating-10-awards-to-16-superb-bloggers-to-celebrate-super-september-of-16000-visitors/

    Congratulations and Namaste.
    =Deo

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.